VT Graduate Responds

I am a  graduate of Va Tech and like the rest of the nation I am deeply saddened by the events that took place on April 16th at our school.  My heart breaks for the families and what they now must endure.  Their lives and their families will never be the same and I pray for each and every one of them.

As I was wrapped up in the news coverage and watching all of you I did see some goodness that came out of this senseless tragedy.  The strength, the dignity and the courage that you all have shown in the face of such horror has truly impressed me.  You have represented yourselves, your families and your school with honor.  Everywhere I went I heard people commenting on how well spoken, caring and compassionate that the students they saw on tv were.  They were truly amazed by you.  I have always been proud to be a Hokie but never more so than I am right now.  Thank you all for showing the nation the true meaning of  “Hokie Pride”.

Diane Bayer

York, PA

Class of 81

Leave a comment

Filed under Hokie Nation, Letters: Beyond Blacksburg

Leave a comment